The kiwi’s cricket team is back again to India for a three test match and five one-day outing starting from September 22. The first test match will start on September 22 with the historic Green Park stadium hosting the match in Kanpur.

Meanwhile, both teams will move onto Eden Gardens, Kolkata for the second test from September 30. The third and final in the lap will be played at Holkat Stadium, Indore starting from October 8. Previously, the BCCI had picked Indore for the second test and Kolkata for the final test.

India vs New Zealand 2016: First one-day match to start from October 16

The test matches will be followed by five one-day international matches starting from October 16 at HPCA Stadium, Dharamsala. The rest of the matches will be played at New Delhi, Mohali, Ranchi, and Visakhapatnam. The New Zealand tour will conclude on October 29.

The New Zealand tour will be followed by England, Australia, and Bangladesh. On the whole, India will play 13 tests, eight ODIs, and three Twenty20 internationals. Interestingly, the upcoming tour of New Zealand doesn’t figure any Twenty20 match.

India equals high number of tests

By playing thirteen tests in the season, India has also equaled the record for the highest number of home Tests in a season. Earlier, games to the tune of 12 tests were played in 1979-80 in India.

New Zealand lost to India in 2012

Previously, New Zealand visited India in 2012 where they lost to India for 0-2. However, they won the two-match T20I series 1-0. It remains to be seen as to how Kiwis play this season in India taking into account the hot humid conditions.

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has announced the team member with Virat Kohli leading the side. On the other hand, Kane Williamson leads the New Zealand side. The list of team members is given below


  • Virat Kohli (c)
  • Ajinkya Rahane (vc)
  • Ravichandran Ashwin
  • Shikhar Dhawan
  • Ravindra Jadeja
  • Bhuvneshwar Kumar
  • Amit Mishra
  • Cheteshwar Pujara
  • K. L. Rahul
  • Wriddhiman Saha (wk)
  • Mohammed Shami
  • Ishant Sharma
  • Rohit Sharma
  • Murali Vijay
  • Umesh Yadav

New Zealand

  • Kane Williamson (c)
  • Trent Boult
  • Doug Bracewell
  • Mark Craig
  • Martin Guptill
  • Matt Henry
  • Tom Latham
  • James Neesham
  • Henry Nicholls
  • Luke Ronchi (wk)
  • Mitchell Santner
  • Ish Sodhi
  • Tim Southee -> Replaced
  • Ross Taylor
  • Neil Wagner
  • BJ Watling (wk)

Tim Southee was originally inducted into the Test squad but was ruled out due to injury. He will be replaced by Matt Henry, who marked his international debut on January 31, 2014, in the fifth ODI against India

You Might Also Like