RAIPUR: Today, Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Congress president Rahul Gandhi will campaign for the first phase of the Assembly elections in Chhattisgarh. Both the leaders will be present in the state regarding the campaigning part.

For the first phase of the Assembly elections in the state, PM Modi will address a rally in Bastar district’s headquarters, Jagdalpur. On the other hand, Gandhi is on a two-day visit to the state. During his visit, Gandhi will hold a roadshow in Chief Minister Raman Singh’s constituency Rajnandgaon and will address five rallies in the state.

Our sources have reported that Prime Minister Narendra Modi will arrive at Raipur airport today at 11:20 am. He will then leave for Jagdalpur with a helicopter.

“Following the rally, he will leave for Raipur at 2 pm and then return to Delhi, a state BJP spokesperson said today.”

“This will be the PM’s first election rally for the state Assembly polls. It will add power to the party’s campaign,” the spokesperson added.

Mr Gandhi, on the other hand, will address his first rally in Pakhanjore town of Kanker district at noon. After the rally, Congress President will hold public meetings in Rajnandgaon district’s Khairgarh and Dongargarh towns. Head of Congress state communication wing Shailesh Nitin Trivedi revealed that Gandhi will also participate in a roadshow in Rajnandgaon.

“He will put up at Rajnandgaon for the night and on Saturday, will address rallies in Charama (Kanker district) and Kondagaon”, Mr Trivedi said. Trivedi also added that the Congress chief will also chair a meeting of party workers in Jagdalpur.

Amidst this, Raman Singh will hold a roadshow in Rajnandgaon today in the evening. And the campaigning for the first phase will end on Saturday.

As per the sources, on November 12 a total of 18 seats of eight Maoist-affected districts will undergo polls, while only 12 out of 18 seats are Scheduled Tribe seats while one is a Scheduled Caste-reserved seat.

The rest of the 72 constituencies will undergo polls on 20th of this month. Counting of votes will be held on December 11.