The 2010 Babli project case revived as  Maharashtra court issued non-bailable warrants against Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister N Chandrababu Naidu and 16 other members of Telugu Desam Party (TDP) leaders for agitation by them over the Babli project across river Godavari.

The Dharmabad first class judicial magistrate court took a strict action and ordered the police to bring the accused leaders before the bench on September 21.

The notice issued by the court was because of the regular visit of Naidu and his party leaders to Babli project area after being prohibited by the local police.

The Babli project is a reservoir project constructed by Maharashtra across the river Godavari disputed by Telangana. The apex court’s verdict came after seven years in favour of Maharashtra. The dispute bred after S.B Chavan and Jalagam Vengal Rao made an agreement in October 1975 which later developed Godavari Water Disputes Tribunal. The agreement said that Maharashtra could access  60 tmcft (thousand million cubic feet) of Godavari water while Andhra Pradesh could construct Sriram Sagar Project and utilize rest of water.

Chandrababu got the information about the court’s arrest warrant when he was in Tirupati Balaji temple on the first day of the 10-day Brahmotsavams.

AP water resources minister Devineni Umamaheswara Rao and Welfare Minister N Anandababu and Andhra, Telangana leaders are among those who are mentioned in arrest notice list.

Naidu’s son said, “Chandrababu Naidu did not even seek bail when he was arrested by the Nanded police when he had staged the protest in the interest of undivided Andhra Pradesh. We will obey, if the court asks us to appear”, responding to the news of non-bailable warrants.

AP minister N Anandababu who is also part of arrest notice list said that the arrest warrant is the act of BJP for witch-hunting. He said that the arrested TDP leaders had refused to apply for bail.

N Anandababu added that the police forcibly sent us to Hyderabad through Aurangabad airport, by informing us that the case was withdrawn but now the time had changed and BJP is in power in Maharashtra.