BENGALURU:  On Tuesday, Indian National Congress and Janata Dal Secular coalition officially announced to fight together against the BJP in Assembly By-Polls on 3rd November.

The announcement was made by the Congress general secretary KC Venugopal after meeting JDS leaders on Tuesday. Venugopal revealed that both the parties will unite and fight the polls in order to defeat the BJP.

“We will fight the election together and make sure that all the five seats will go in favour of the Congress-JDS alliance,” Mr Venugopal, who is in charge of party affairs in Karnataka, told our reporters. “Secular parties should come together for defeating the BJP is the message,” he said.

AS per the sources, several other big names present at the meeting were the former prime minister and JDS chief HD Deve Gowda, his party secretary-general Danish Ali, Karnataka Congress chief Dinesh Gundu Rao and former chief minister and Congress-JDS coordination committee head Siddaramaiah.

There have been reports that the Congress will fight in Bellary and Shimoga Lok Sabha constituencies while JDS, on the other hand, will fight in Mandya. Mandya is said to be the traditional stronghold of JDS in the Vokkaliga belt in old Mysuru region.

Regarding the assembly By-Polls, JDS will contest from Ramanagara, where the seat of Chief Minister HD Kumaraswamy is vacant, which he gave up after retaining Channapatna. While the Congress will contest from Jamakhandi.

With an announcement of the date of by-polls in Karnataka, the Election Commission of India on Saturday also announced the date of By-Polls to Shimoga, Bellary and Mandya Lok Sabha constituencies. Dates for Ramanagara and Jamkhandi assembly segments were also announced by the ECI. Counting of votes for the same will take place on 6th of November, reported sources.

After the resignation of BJP’s BS Yeddyurappa (Shimoga) and B Sriramalu (Bellary), and CS Puttaraju of JDS (Mandya) as parliamentarians on their election to the assembly in May this year, the By-Polls were necessitated in the region.

Whereas, Bypolls to Jamkhandi assembly seat has been announced due to the death of Congress legislator Siddu Nyamagouda and Ramanagara seat fell vacant after Mr Kumaraswamy gave up the seat for Chennapatna.