Chhattisgarh Assembly Elections 2018 LIVE: Today, the final phase of the Chhattisgarh Assembly elections will take place for 72 of the 90 seats in the state. Amidst tight security arrangements, over 1.54 crore voters, including 77.53 lakh male, 76.46 lakh female and 877 transgender will come out and cast their votes in order to choose the government for the state.

“We are expecting a pro-incumbency vote in the second phase also and people will come out in huge numbers this time also to vote for the BJP. We will definitely come back to power for the record fourth time in a row,” Chief Minister Raman Singh told news reporters.

Polling in the state began at 7 am in two of the 19,336 booths, while the rest of the booths will face polling at the usual time of 8 am to 5 pm. In order to favour smooth polling process, over one lakh security personnel have been deployed. Besides this, extra team members have been deployed in Naxal-affected districts of Gariaband, Dhamtari, Mahasamund, Kabirdham, Jashpur, and Balrampur.

The ruling Bhartiya Janta Party has 43 of the 72 seats in the state and the Congress, on the other hand, is confident about winning the assembly elections  in the state overlooking the anger of farmers against BJP

After Mayawati-led Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP), former chief minister Ajit Jogi’s Janata Congress Chhattisgarh and the Communist Party of India (CPI) joined hands to contest the polls, there is a third element for the first time in a bipolar state.

The first phase of the assembly elections in Chhattisgarh took place on 12th November for the 18 seats in Bastar and Rajnandgaon districts. And the results for all the 90 seats including four other states — Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan, Mizoram, and Telangana will be declared on December 11.