Bhopal: On Monday, the election campaign which included personal attacks, bitter allegations and tall promises regarding the Assembly polls in the Madhya Pradesh came to an end.

The ruling BJP went all out to stave off anti-incumbency after 15 years of the rule while the Congress has mounted a strong challenge to storm to power in the state.

In order to achieve public attention and win the votes in the upcoming elections, CM Shivraj Singh Chauhan, PM Narendra Modi, Party chief Amit Shah, Home Minister Rajnath Singh, UP CM Yogi Adityanath and others held rallies in the state. Meanwhile, Rahul Gandhi did a job of crowd puller for the party and banked on leaders like Kamal Nath, Digvijaya Singh and Jyotiraditya Scindia to pull in voters.

MP Chief Electoral Officer VL Kanta Rao stated that all the public meetings regarding the elections, road shows, rallies and electioneering of any form, including that on social media have come to an end Since 5 pm on Monday. But still the candidates can go door-to-door and campaign, he added.

Rao further informed that there are a total of 65,000 polling booths in Madhya Pradesh out of which 17,000 have been identified as ‘critical’. For these polling booths, special measures such as CCTV cameras, videography, webcasting, micro observers and special teams like central para-military forces would be provided to make sure that free and fair polling takes place in the state

“The commission has deployed 1.80 lakh police personnel and three lakh government staff in poll duty, including 4500 women staff, and there would be 2000 booths handled by all women staff and 160 booths that would be governed by specially-abled staffers with their prior consent,” said the CEO.

Besides this, the valuables worth Rs 68 crore including 29 cr cash, 13 cr of illegal liquor and Rs 5.5 crore of drugs have been seized by the commission. Amidst the campaigning period, more than 2,088 FIRs were registered by the Commission over violation of various acts, informed Rao

The polling in Madhya Pradesh will take place on Nov 28 and the results for the same would be declared on Dec 11.