Recently, Election Commission of India (ECI) has announced that bye-elections in Shivamogga, Ballari and Mandya Lok Sabha constituencies in Karnataka will be held on November 3, 2018.

As per the sources, the bye-elections are being held in the state following the vacated seats of BJP MPs BS Yeddyurappa (Shivamogga), Sriramulu (Ballari) and JD(S) leader CS Putturaju (Mandya). These seats got vacated after the said BJP MPs were elected as MLAs in the State Assembly elections earlier this year.

In addition to the date of the bye-elections in the Karnataka, ECI also has announced the elections date for Ramanagara and Jamkhandi State Assembly constituencies. As per ECI, the elections in the said state will also be conducted on the same date, November 3, 2018.

Our news sources have revealed that bye-polls for the State Assembly seats are being held after the vacated seat of Chief Minister HD Kumaraswamy, as he has won from two constituencies – Ramanagara and Channapatna. On the other hand, one of the other reasons is the vacated seat of the MLA in Jamkhandi, Siddu Nyamagowda who passed away on May 28, two weeks after the elections. The model code of conduct comes into effect immediately in these constituencies as only a month is left for the polls,  sources added.

With 16 October being the last date for parties to name nominations, Bhartiya Janta Party is planning to field Yeddyurappa’s eldest son Raghavendra for the MP seat in Shivamogga.

While Congress, on the other hand, is planning to nominate Anil Lad or Santosh Lad as candidates from Ballari. Sources have reported that Santosh has previously been an MP.

However, with only a few months left for the 2019 Lok Sabha elections, lobbying for seats within the party is expected to be limited.