On Saturday, the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party revealed the first list of 77 candidates for the upcoming assembly elections in Chhattisgarh. The party even declared to challenge polls on 38 out of 119 seats in Telangana.

The union minister JP Nadda said that amid the 77 candidates declared out of a total of 90 Assembly sections, women candidates are 14 in number and 14 sitting MLAs have been swapped with new names. He further said that the list was prepared and finalized after the party central election committee meeting, which was happened in the presence of Prime Minister Modi and party president Amit Shah including several other important leaders of the party.

Among those fielded by the BJP comprise former IAS officer O P Chaudhary and tribal leader Ramdayal Uike, who left the Congress and joined the BJP. After declaring the list, the election in-charge of Telangana BJP Nadda further added that BJP is going to challenge Mizoram Assembly election on 13 seats.

The Eighteen Naxal pro areas will undergo elections in the first phase starting from November 12, and the remaining of the 72 districts would go to polls in the second phase which will be starting from November 20 onwards.

The Bahujan Samaj Party lead by the Mayawati had also presented the second list of 12 candidates. The party has made a false coalition with former chief minister Ajit Jogi’s Janata Congress Chhattisgarh (J) and the Communist Party of India, they will be challenging by putting 33 Assembly seats. In addition, nominations are filed by nine more candidates for the first phase of Chhattisgarh elections.

An official has reported that, on Saturday, the two candidates have filed their papers for Rajnandgaon, Antagarh, and Dantewada seats and one each for Khairagarh, Dongargarh, and Dongargaon. The official also said that being Sunday a holiday, the nomination cannot be filed. However, only two days are left that is October 22 and 23 for the filing of the nominations for the first phase.